News featuring Beastie Boys

The following news stories mention Beastie Boys. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 6 hours ago.

’14 Sep 19 Fri

Friday 19th September

’14 Sep 12 Fri

Friday 12th September

’14 Sep 5 Fri

Friday 5th September

’14 Aug 22 Fri

Friday 22nd August

  • Long Live the Beastie Boys: Their Five Most Underappreciated Songs

    PopMatters looks at five Beastie Boys songs that are not only underappreciated, but some of their best.

    Beastie Boy MCA (Adam Yauch) died of cancer in 2012, but only in June did Beastie Mike D (Mike Diamond) finally and officially announce that the legendary hip-hop group is done making music under that name. For thirty years, the trio (the third being Adrock, aka Adam Horovitz) bounced in and out of each other’s rhymes with remarkable chemistry and balanced each other out to perfection: Mike D was the tenor with swagger, Adrock the…

    Read the complete article at www.popmatters.com

’14 Aug 19 Tue

Tuesday 19th August

’14 Aug 15 Fri

Friday 15th August

  • The playlist hip hop: Lil Boosie, Danny Brown and Rustie

    Boosies back, Ratking get a Beastie Boys rework and Lil Wayne has been freestyling over a US sports show theme tune

    • Meet the new producers bringing underground sounds to Kanye West, Jay Z and J-Lo

    Continue reading...

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

  • Def Jam celebrating 30th anniversary at Barclays Center with Rick Ross, Warren G, EPMD, Method Man, Jeremih, more

    Def Jam Records, the label responsible for some of the most influential hip hop ever released (Beastie Boys, Public Enemy, Kanye West, much more), is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year and in honor of that they'll throw a big show at Brooklyn's Barclays Center on October 16. It's got a lineup of artists from throughout Def Jam's history as a label with legends, currently-rising artists and plenty in between, including Rick Ross, 2 Chainz, DMX, Fabolous, Foxy Brown, Jhené Aiko, Onyx, Method Man, Redman, Ashanti, Ja Rule, Warren G, EPMD, and Jeremih. Tickets go on sale Friday, August 22 at 10 AM with AmEx/Radio/Venue/Promotor/Ticketmaster presales starting Thursday, August 21 at 10 AM.

    Def Jam is also releasing two versions of a limited edition box set in honor of the anniversary, which "will include Selections From The Roots of Def Jam, which is curated by Rick Rubin and features…

    Read the complete article at www.brooklynvegan.com

’14 Aug 12 Tue

Tuesday 12th August

’14 Aug 7 Thu

Thursday 7th August

  • Beyoncé To Receive MTV VMA’s Video Vanguard Award

    MTV has announced that that Beyoncé will perform at this year’s MTV Video Music Awards and will be awarded with the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award, which has been given to artists like Madonna, the Beastie Boys, U2, George Michael, and Janet Jackson in the past. Last year, Justin Timberlake won the award and performed [...]

    Read the complete article at stereogum.feedsportal.com

older »