News featuring Dolly Parton

The following news stories mention Dolly Parton. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 1386 hours ago.

’15 Jul 13 Mon

’15 Jul 5 Sun

Sunday 5th July

  • Kacey Musgraves: Pageant Material review – sweet tunes laced with wit


    With its witty accounts of small-town life, Musgraves’s 2013 debut, Same Trailer Different Park, cast the young Texan as the antidote to the beer-toting, pickup driving cliches of “bro-country” that dominate Nashville’s output. This follow-up, while more polished, maintains her appeal on songs that hark back to forerunners such as Bobbie Gentry and Dolly Parton. Like them, her vocals are sweet rather than strident, while her tunefulness comes spiked with wry homilies; “Pissin’ in my yard ain’t gonna make yours greener,” she offers on Biscuits, while Good Ol’Boys Club is a snipe at country establishment. One ol’ boy is included, though, Willie Nelson, who guests on the swooning, pedal-steel drenched Are You Sure. A charmer.

    Read the complete article at

’15 Jul 1 Wed

Wednesday 1st July

’15 Jun 28 Sun

Sunday 28th June

’15 May 21 Thu

Thursday 21st May

’15 May 15 Fri

Friday 15th May

’15 May 12 Tue

Tuesday 12th May

’15 May 11 Mon

Monday 11th May

’15 Apr 7 Tue

Tuesday 7th April

older »