News featuring Hector Berlioz

The following news stories mention Hector Berlioz. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 3 hours ago.

’14 Aug 19 Tue

Tuesday 19th August

’14 Jun 3 Tue

Tuesday 3rd June

’14 Mar 18 Tue

Tuesday 18th March

  • Edinburgh international festival highlights to reflect on war

    Event to coincide with centenary of first world war but conflicts including apartheid and the Trojan war will also be remembered

    The long shadow of war will hang heavily over this year's Edinburgh international festival – opening in the week in August marking the centenary of Britain entering the first world war – from the festival logo of bluebells tangled in barbed wire, to plays, poetry, dance pieces, operas and symphonies.

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’14 Mar 4 Tue

Tuesday 4th March

  • 50 years ago - how John Eliot Gardiner changed music

    His student performance of Monteverdi's Vespers on 5 March 1964 put a rocket under the musical establishment; John Eliot Gardiner has not stopped entertaining and enlightening audiences ever since.

    50 years ago to the day, a 20 year-old history, Arabic and medieval Spanish student at King's College, Cambridge, lit a rocket under the musical establishment, and he's spent the last half-century continuing to shock and awe, agitate and enlighten, entertain and energise audiences and performers all over the world - but mostly, and most importantly, in the UK ever since. It was on 5 March 1964 that John Eliot Gardiner conducted Monteverdi's Vespers in the Chapel of King's College, and musical culture has never been the same since.

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’14 Jan 20 Mon

Monday 20th January

’13 Nov 17 Sun

Sunday 17th November

’13 Nov 10 Sun

Sunday 10th November

  • Valery Gergiev: 'Berlioz inspired me'

    The Russian conductor Valery Gergiev's Berlioz season has been marked by protests. Ahead of the Barbican series – and the current controversy – he spoke about the passion he feels for the French composer's work

    'He's unpredictable; he has his way of playing the orchestra, hearing the orchestra – it's his temperament: nothing is ever the same, he never stops searching." This could be a description of Valery Gergiev, the electrifying 60-year-old Russian principal conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra and one of the most compelling conductors in the world. In fact, these are Gergiev's own words to describe the tempestuous and uncompromisingly original French Romantic composer Hector Berlioz (1803-69), to whom the opening phase of Gergiev's current concert season with the LSO is dedicated.

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’13 Nov 5 Tue

Tuesday 5th November

’13 Nov 1 Fri

Friday 1st November

  • LSO/Gergiev – review

    Barbican Hall, London

    An early disruption to the first instalment of Gergiev's Berlioz series seemed to have an unsettling effect on the concert

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’13 Mar 7 Thu

Thursday 7th March

  • Marches Madness: Off With His Head!

    In Hector Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique, brass snarl and winds shriek like feral beasts in an opium-fueled dream of passion, murder and execution by guillotine.

    Read the complete article at www.npr.org

older »