News featuring James Blake

The following news stories mention James Blake. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 7 hours ago.

’14 Sep 16 Tue

Tuesday 16th September

  • East India Youth up for Mercury Prize, playing NYC, LA & San Francisco in November (dates, streams)

    East India Youth's William Doyle is an artist of two halves. On the one hand he's an emotional electronic songsmith: think a James Blake you don't want to grab by the scruff of the neck and pack off to national service. On the other, he's an inventive composer who can turn his hand to Harold Buddesque soundscapes one minute (Total Strife Forever I-IV) and surprisingly banging techno such as Hinterland the next. His debut album - probably the first, and last, to feature a title constructed from a Foals pun - oscillates between these styles... - [The Guardian] East India Youth's album Total Strife Forever is one of 12 records up for this year's Mercury Music Prize. If you haven't heard it yet, you can stream it via Rdio and check out a few videos below.

    In November, East India Youth will be coming over for his first US…

    Read the complete article at www.brooklynvegan.com

’14 Sep 10 Wed

Wednesday 10th September

’14 Sep 3 Wed

Wednesday 3rd September

  • Kaytranada expands tour, adds 2nd NYC show w/ Benji B and Obey City, playing Pitchfork Paris (updated dates)

    XL-signed Montreal producer, AlunaGeorge remixer and Vic Mensa collaborator Kaytranada has expanded his previously announced tour. The tour was already scheduled to hit NYC on October 9 at Music Hall of Williamsburg, and he's now added another NYC show happening a day earlier (10/8) at Bowery Ballroom. It's also been announced that Benji B and Obey City will open both shows. Tickets for the newly-added date go on sale Friday (9/5) at noon with an AmEx presale starting today (9/3) at noon. Tickets for the MHOW show (same link) are still available.

    Kaytranada was also recently added to Pitchfork Paris which also includes Belle & Sebastian, Caribou, James Blake, Mogwai, Jamie xx, Four Tet, St. Vincent and more.

    Read the complete article at www.brooklynvegan.com

’14 Aug 22 Fri

Friday 22nd August

’14 Aug 12 Tue

Tuesday 12th August

’14 Aug 9 Sat

Saturday 9th August

’14 Jul 27 Sun

Sunday 27th July

’14 Jul 25 Fri

Friday 25th July

  • Chance the Rapper Plots Collaborations with Jessie Ware, J. Cole, Wyclef Jean

    Earlier this year, Chance the Rapper said that he was becoming roomies with James Blake and was planning to host lots of collaborative sessions at his new Los Angeles crib. It's not too much of a surprise, then, to learn that the Chicago-bred MC has been working on material with a host of notable guests. In addition to his buddy Blake, Chance told BBC Radio 1Xtra that he's been collaborating with Wyclef Jean, J. Cole, Boys Noize and Jessie Ware. "I'm soaking in their energy," Chance said. "These are seasoned, awesome, eclectic artists who know a lot that I don't know. Just just...Read More

    Read the complete article at exclaim.ca

older »