News featuring Jimi Hendrix

The following news stories mention Jimi Hendrix. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 3 hours ago.

’14 Oct 27 Mon

Monday 27th October

  • Cream singer/bassist Jack Bruce, RIP

    Jack Bruce, singer, bassist and one-third of classic power trio Cream (as well as a successful solo career), died Saturday (10/25) at age 71:

    His family announced the death on his website. A spokesman said the cause was liver disease; Mr. Bruce had received a liver transplant several years ago.

    Read the complete article at www.brooklynvegan.com

’14 Oct 25 Sat

Saturday 25th October

’14 Oct 14 Tue

Tuesday 14th October

  • The Bots: Tiny Desk Concert

    A Jimi Hendrix influence informs The Bots' bluesy moments, both in the guitar and in Mikaiah Lei's voice. There's also a great rock-duo punch that recalls The White Stripes or JEFF The Brotherhood.

    Read the complete article at www.npr.org

’14 Oct 3 Fri

Friday 3rd October

  • Andre 3000 Talks New ‘Jimi’ Movie On ‘David Letterman’: Watch

    Andre 3000 stopped by The Late Show with David Letterman last night (October 2) to discuss his role playing Jimi Hendrix, in the biopic Jimi: All Is By My Side. Calling him “the coolest person in the world,” the entertainer said he was nervous to take on the part. He also talks about discovering Hendrix’s music later on in […]

    Read the complete article at www.idolator.com

’14 Oct 1 Wed

Wednesday 1st October

  • Tomás Doncker Band: Moanin' at Midnight: The Howlin' Wolf Project

    Here's an album that crackles with fresh mojo while maintaining the authentic vibe of the originals that inspired the project in the first place.

    Can an old dog be taught new tricks? When it comes to the blues, the answer has been proven affirmative time and time again. Led Zeppelin, Jimi Hendrix and the Rolling Stones reworked the blues masters to forge new frontiers in rock 'n' roll in the '60s, and artists who have cut their teeth on the blues have been doing it ever since. The Tomas Doncker Band out of New York City has joined the…

    Read the complete article at www.popmatters.com

’14 Sep 30 Tue

Tuesday 30th September

’14 Sep 26 Fri

Friday 26th September

’14 Sep 23 Tue

Tuesday 23rd September

older »