News featuring Martha Wainwright

The following news stories mention Martha Wainwright. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated within the last hour.

’14 Sep 19 Fri

Friday 19th September

’14 Mar 25 Tue

Tuesday 25th March

’14 Mar 23 Sun

Sunday 23rd March

’13 Sep 11 Wed

Wednesday 11th September

  • Big acts in tiny venues

    Intimate gigs by big-name acts can be a big thrill – and a bit weird. Tell us about the gigs you've seen in undersized venues

    There's something ridiculously special about seeing your favourite band play a tiny room. Last night's Manic Street Preachers gig at London's 100 Club saw the Welsh trio perform to a few hundred fans and industry bods. For someone who's seen them at the 70,000 capacity Millenium Stadium, headlining Reading and Glastonbury and at numerous arenas over the years, the chance to get into a room that holds 300 rather than 3,000 was one I was unlikely to turn down – and it pretty much lived up to expectations too.

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’13 Aug 19 Mon

Monday 19th August

’13 Aug 13 Tue

Tuesday 13th August

  • Martha Wainwright On World Cafe

    The Wainwrights and McGarrigles are songwriting royalty. Here, Martha Wainwright joins David Dye to revisit the tribute concerts held in the wake of Kate McGarrigle's death. Some of those performances are captured on the compilation Sing Me the Songs: Celebrating the Works of Kate McGarrigle.

    Read the complete article at www.npr.org

’13 Jun 25 Tue

Tuesday 25th June

’13 Jun 20 Thu

Thursday 20th June

  • Various: Sing Me The Songs: Celebrating the Work of Kate McGarrigle – review

    (Nonesuch)

    It was, said Rufus Wainwright, "a difficult but uplifting night", and it was a memorable, poignant concert. In June 2010, Richard Thompson's Meltdown at London's Royal Festival Hall included a tribute to the remarkable Quebecois singer-songwriter Kate McGarrigle, who died five months earlier. The cast included Kate's children, Rufus and Martha Wainwright, and her sister Anna, and the songs were a reminder of Kate's range, matching intense, personal lyrics with often exquisite melodies influenced by folk, country and hymns. Thankfully, the event was recorded, as were other tribute concerts in New York and Toronto, and this 34-track set includes many of the highlights. Rufus Wainwright and Emmylou Harris collaborate on the tragic I Eat Dinner, Norah Jones and Martha Wainwright duet on the rousing (Talk To Me of) Mendocino, and there's a historic reunion between Richard and Linda Thompson on the pained Go Leave. Glorious.

    Read the complete article at www.guardian.co.uk

’13 Jun 9 Sun

Sunday 9th June

  • Triple J's Hottest 100: where are the female singers?

    The Australian radio station counted down the 'hottest' 100 songs of the last 20 years, but female artists were under-represented. Suggest your favourites

    Australian radio station Triple J just finished their much acclaimed countdown of the "hottest" singles of the last 20 years. The song Wonderwall, by Oasis, won first place. But feminist writer and activist Karen Pickering wrote a blog entry bemoaning the lack of female-fronted bands on the list, and suggested a few of her own – underlining the fact that their absence wasn't due to a lack of women in music. She lists, among others:

    Read the complete article at www.guardian.co.uk

’13 May 30 Thu

Thursday 30th May

older »