News featuring Martha Wainwright

The following news stories mention Martha Wainwright. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 1347 hours ago.

’15 May 14 Thu

Thursday 14th May

’15 Apr 28 Tue

Tuesday 28th April

’15 Feb 12 Thu

Thursday 12th February

’15 Feb 5 Thu

Thursday 5th February

’15 Jan 30 Fri

Friday 30th January

’15 Jan 22 Thu

Thursday 22nd January

  • Invisible Familiars streaming LP, playing shows (including one with mems of Delicate Steve, Cibo Matto, Sean Lennon, more)

    by Bill Pearis

    As mentioned, Invisible Familiars (aka NYC singer-songwriter Jared Samuel) will release his debut album, Disturbing Wildlife, next week (1/27) via Other Music. Having worked with Martha Wainwright, Cibo Matto and Sean Lennon, Samuel's own music is an appealing hodgepodge of styles that is at once quirky, folky, poppy and danceable. (A little like Beck? Perhaps.) The LP features appearances by Cibo Matto, Nels Cline, drummer Ryan Sawyer, and Stuart Bogie from Antibalas, just to mention a few. You can listen to the whole album right now -- we're premiering a stream of the album below.

    Read the complete article at

’14 Dec 18 Thu

Thursday 18th December

’14 Dec 17 Wed

Wednesday 17th December

’14 Dec 15 Mon

Monday 15th December

  • Invisible Familiars sign to Other Music (streams), playing lots of NYC shows

    New York singer songwriter Jared Samuel, who has played with Martha Wainwright, Sharon Jones, Cibo Matto and Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger to name a few, makes music of his own as Invisible Familiars. His music is quirky, poppy and danceable as you'll be able to hear when Invisible Familiars' debut album, Disturbing Wildlife, comes out January 27 via Other Music Recording Company. The record features guest appearances Robbie Mangano, Tim Kuhl, Jolie Holland, Cibo Matto's Yuka Honda & Miho Hatori, Nels Cline, Ryan Sawyer, and Stuart Bogie from Antibalas. You can check out album track "Clever Devil" and the video for single "Heavenly All," below.

    Invisible Familiars have a bunch of NYC-area shows coming up, including a free afternoon show on Sunday (12/14) at Union Pool in the front room. Sweepstakes also play and things get underway at 2 PM. Then the band will play four week…

    Read the complete article at

older »