News featuring Michael Jackson

The following news stories mention Michael Jackson. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 8 hours ago.

’15 May 29 Fri

Friday 29th May

’15 May 28 Thu

Thursday 28th May

’15 May 24 Sun

Sunday 24th May

  • Louis Johnson obituary

    Powerful bassist on Michael Jackson’s albums Thriller and Off the Wall, he found fame in the 1970s with his funk band the Brothers Johnson

    Continue reading...

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’15 May 21 Thu

Thursday 21st May

  • Blood and Thunder: We All Wanna Touch a Rainbow

    Once upon a time, Ronnie James Dio rounded up a bevy of heavy metal legends to record a charity single. Yet no amount of superstar power could stop the song from falling by the wayside.

    By early 1985, charity singles were all the rage. Band-Aid’s “Do They Know It’s Christmas?”, helmed by Bob Geldof of the Boomtown Rats, became an instant classic at the end of 1984, with its bevy of UK and Irish pop stars propelling the song to the top of charts worldwide. Written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie on 20 January 1985, recorded the next day, and released in early March, “We Are the World” might…

    Read the complete article at www.popmatters.com

’15 May 12 Tue

Tuesday 12th May

older »