News featuring Nick Drake

The following news stories mention Nick Drake. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 3 hours ago.

’15 Feb 12 Thu

Thursday 12th February

’15 Jan 19 Mon

Monday 19th January

  • Ryan Hobler - 'The Elusive Yes' (album stream) (Premiere)

    The newest outing by the New Jersey singer/songwriter Ryan Hobler is a welcoming potpourri of folk stylings.

    Folk music is one big tent in terms of stylistic diversity, a fact encapsulated nicely by the latest LP by the singer/songwriter Ryan Hobler. Produced by Andy Baldwin (Bjork, Saint Lucia, Wakey! Wakey!), The Elusive Yes runs the gamut of folk styles in 12 tracks. Hobler himself lists Paul Simon, Elliott Smith, and Nick Drake as formative influences on his music, but even more can be heard throughout this album, which you can stream exclusively…

    Read the complete article at www.popmatters.com

’15 Jan 10 Sat

Saturday 10th January

’14 Nov 23 Sun

Sunday 23rd November

’14 Nov 10 Mon

Monday 10th November

’14 Nov 7 Fri

Friday 7th November

’14 Nov 5 Wed

Wednesday 5th November

’14 Oct 17 Fri

Friday 17th October

  • Matteah Baim: Falling Theater

    Overall the album has both a sense of doom and gloom and an intimate, candlelit feeling.

    On Falling Theater I hear an aural focus, more of a balance between the music and her voice than on her previous, nonetheless captivating, records. Songs like “Good for Two” are arranged like she’s Nick Drake or a ballad singer of the fast – fitting, perhaps, for an album that wears a feeling of wistful timelessness on its cover, with its portrayal of shuttered movie palaces. Her voice is right there front and center, yet…

    Read the complete article at www.popmatters.com

’14 Oct 16 Thu

Thursday 16th October

  • Dean Drouillard to Release 'UFO Houses' Solo Album

    Dean Drouillard has lent his guitar talents to the likes of Royal Wood, Sarah Harmer and Matthew Barber, but now he's stepping back into spotlight for his latest solo album. UFO Houses will be out on October 29 through Backward Music. The album is entirely instrumental, and a press release points to sonic touchstones like George Harrison, Nils Cline, Ennio Morricone, Robert Fripp, Nick Drake and Jonny Greenwood. The nine tracks are said to be "hazy, dramatic vignettes," and the album was was recorded in a Toronto loft with producer Joshua Van Tassel (of Great Lake Swimmers), who...Read More

    Read the complete article at exclaim.ca

’14 Oct 15 Wed

Wednesday 15th October

older »