News featuring Nirvana

The following news stories mention Nirvana. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 10 hours ago.

’15 May 28 Thu

Thursday 28th May

’15 May 26 Tue

Tuesday 26th May

’15 May 18 Mon

Monday 18th May

’15 May 15 Fri

Friday 15th May

’15 May 12 Tue

Tuesday 12th May

  • Sub Pop's Top 10 Canadian-made Albums

    Toronto trio METZ's sophomore effort, METZ II, arrived with a speaker-bursting bang earlier this month, making for one of best — not to mention loudest releases — we've heard this year. It's the group's second stellar full-length for Sub Pop, and it's looking as if the current Exclaim! cover stars are on a streamlined path to the iconic imprint's hall of fame. But while its grinding guitar noise, massive percussive blasts and highly concentrated doses of melody land somewhere between Bleach-era Nirvana and the bleak punch of Pennsylvania punks Pissed Jeans, you...

    Read the complete article at exclaim.ca

’15 May 11 Mon

Monday 11th May

  • See newly unearthed photos from Nirvana’s Nevermind promo shoot

    Taken by photographer Kirk Weddle, who shot the famous album cover.

    Read the complete article at consequenceofsound.net

  • Ghost B.C. Return with 'Meliora' LP

    Spooky Swedes Ghost B.C. released Infestissumam back in 2013, and followed it up with an EP of covers. The doom metal troupe have now announced plans, however, for their next LP of original material.   Titled Meliora, the new full-length is reportedly due out on August 21.   The record was produced by Klas Åhlund of Swedish band Teddybears and mixed by Andy Wallace (Slayer, Nirvana, Sepultura). As for the name itself, it translates as "better," for anyone who's not up-to-date on their Latin.   According to Blabbermouth, song titles on the new offering include "From the Pinnacle to...

    Read the complete article at exclaim.ca

’15 May 7 Thu

Thursday 7th May

  • More Light Shed on Kurt Cobain Solo Album

    Just last week, we learned that the recent Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck documentary isn't the last new material we'll get surrounding the late Nirvana frontman. Instead, the artist's archival home recordings are being released as a solo album. In a new interview, Heck director Brett Morgen opened up about the release. Speaking with KCRW [via Billboard], Morgen explained the simple process in which he discovered all of the music. "I went into the archives — this could be too strong a word — [and] I liberated a lot of material for the film," he said. "The primary...

    Read the complete article at exclaim.ca

older »