News featuring One Direction

The following news stories mention One Direction. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 6 hours ago.

’15 Jun 28 Sun

Sunday 28th June

’15 Jun 27 Sat

Saturday 27th June

’15 Jun 26 Fri

Friday 26th June

  • Glastonbury kicks off with joyful blues, heavy showers and boy bands backstage

    On the first day of the festival, One Direction members loiter backstage to watch James Bay, whose single Hold Back the River fails to stop the rain

    The sound of frenzied screaming ripples through the Pyramid stage audience. It’s not James Bay’s anticipated lunchtime set that’s attracting such teenage hysteria, however, but the sight of One Direction’s Niall Horan and Louis Tomlinson loitering at the side of the main Pyramid stage, their faces projected on to the massive screens that flank the vast pointed construction. Had it been a lesser-known artist on stage, this kind of limelight stealing might have left a bitter, dispirited taste. But, for Bay and his huge-brimmed hat, Brit award, No 1 album and many other preordained successes, it’s another affirmation of his seamlessly fruitful career.

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’15 Jun 25 Thu

Thursday 25th June

  • Saint Raymond: Young Blood review – slick, safe pop made for soundtracking Made in Chelsea

    (Asylum Records)

    Callum Burrows is an average 19-year-old from Nottingham, but by night he becomes Saint Raymond, a singer popular among teens and Made in Chelsea music coordinators. He’s had support slots with Ed Sheeran and Haim. He’s been in the studio with Jacknife Lee, producer for Taylor Swift, One Direction and U2. And he’s now releasing a debut album; which sounds like a hit record made for the Snapchat generation, or the byproduct of a major-label focus group. The omnipresent “woah-ohs” that fill so many TV ads are present here too, floating through Fall At Your Feet and I Want You; there are melodies and vocal styles road-tested by the likes of Bastille and Haim, but sedated as if by hazy Instagram filters. The band it perhaps most recalls is the 1975, if they had they been into vlogging and kale smoothies rather than fags and drunken foreplay. Young Blood has some fantastically…

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’15 Jun 17 Wed

Wednesday 17th June

’15 Jun 16 Tue

’15 Jun 15 Mon

Monday 15th June

’15 Jun 14 Sun

Sunday 14th June

’15 Jun 10 Wed

Wednesday 10th June

older »