News featuring Pavement

The following news stories mention Pavement. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 10 hours ago.

’14 Sep 29 Mon

Monday 29th September

’14 Sep 24 Wed

Wednesday 24th September

’14 Sep 22 Mon

Monday 22nd September

  • The Gotobeds (members of Kim Phuc) released debut LP (stream it), added to BV presents Sleaford Mods show

    by Bill Pearis

    Pittsburgh's The Gotobeds is the new band from guitarist Eli Kasan and drummer Tom Payne of the great, mostly dormant Kim Phuc. After a cassette and a couple 7"s, the band released their debut album, Poor People Are Revolting, this month via Gerard Cosloy's 12xu label. ("12xu" is not the only Wire reference associated with the band.) From the title down, this is attitude-heavy, snarling, railing-against-everything punk-informed indie rock. If you dig Protomartyr and Parquet Courts (whose album gets slightly damaged in their video for "New York's Alright [If You Like Sex & Phones]") or Pavement or The Fall (or Wire), this is pretty much essential listening. You can stream the whole album and check out that "New York's Alright" video below.

    Read the complete article at www.brooklynvegan.com

’14 Sep 15 Mon

Monday 15th September

’14 Sep 10 Wed

Wednesday 10th September

’14 Sep 8 Mon

Monday 8th September

  • Parquet Courts – “Bodies Made Of” Video

    Parquet Courts have released another video from their resolutely knotty post-punk party record Sunbathing Animal. The song is a reminder that yes, Parquet Courts actually do sound a lot like Pavement — come on guys, just accept it. The video, meanwhile, reminds us that seeing Parquet Courts in concert is super fun. Iain Forsyth and [...]

    Read the complete article at stereogum.feedsportal.com

’14 Sep 7 Sun

Sunday 7th September

’14 Sep 4 Thu

Thursday 4th September

  • Half Japanese: Overjoyed

    Overjoyed, Half Japanese's first record in over a decade, is all unapologetic, whole-hearted declarations of love that, oddly, make for some of the band's most confrontational material yet.

    Band reunions tend to carry history with them. Some, like Archers of Loaf and Pavement, embrace it and drive around knocking out that history on stage night after night. Others like the Pixies feel like they're constantly trying to outrun it. Some bands, like Mission of Burma, disappear for so long, the return is more step forward than look back. No matter the path, though, there's something over a reunited band's shoulder, whether it chooses…

    Read the complete article at www.popmatters.com

’14 Sep 2 Tue

Tuesday 2nd September

  • Girl Band – “De Bom Bom” Video

    Dublin noise-punks Girl Band released a stark black-and-white video for their great single “Lawman,” and their new clip for “De Bom Bom” matches that aesthetic. Not much happens in the video, so it works as a kaleidoscopic portrait of the band in action. The song remains an excellent pastiche of early Liars, Pavement, and the [...]

    Read the complete article at stereogum.feedsportal.com

’14 Aug 21 Thu

Thursday 21st August

older »