News featuring Sonic Youth

The following news stories mention Sonic Youth. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 5 hours ago.

’14 Dec 11 Thu

Thursday 11th December

’14 Dec 2 Tue

Tuesday 2nd December

’14 Nov 29 Sat

Saturday 29th November

  • Sun Kil Moon Announces New 10-Inch

    Conflict-loving indie folk mainstay Mark Kozelek recently shared "The Possum" via his Sun Kil Moon moniker. The track arrives digitally next week, but it'll also be released on vinyl early next year. The song, which is a nine-minute jam that name-drops Godflesh and features Sonic Youth's Steve Shelley on drums, will form the A-side of the release. And while he didn't pick any specific fights with the track, that may not be the case with its B-side. As Stereogum reports, the release's other track is called "Cry Me a River Williamsburg Sleeve Tattoo Blues." "The Possum" will...Read More

    Read the complete article at exclaim.ca

’14 Nov 26 Wed

Wednesday 26th November

’14 Nov 23 Sun

Sunday 23rd November

  • Couch Slut celebrating 'My Life As A Woman' at Acheron this weekend w/ Ora Iso & more (stream their LP)

    by Andrew Sacher

    NYC's Couch Slut have only been around for about a year but have quickly been leaving their mark on the local heavy scene. Their debut album, My Life As A Woman (that's the awesome cover art above), came out last month via Handshake Inc and is streaming below. It's kinda metal, kinda hardcore, and kinda noise rock. If you're into all three of those things, this album is definitely for you. But if say you're 100% not a metalhead, but you are into early Sonic Youth, there's plenty you'd dig here too. Needless to say, the album is heavy as all hell, though parts of the post-rocky "Rape Kit" are downright pretty. It's a diverse listen and only six songs -- check it out.

    Read the complete article at www.brooklynvegan.com

’14 Nov 19 Wed

Wednesday 19th November

  • Thurston Moore playing free Pandora show; The Hold Steady add 2nd Brooklyn show, play free Pandora show Friday

    Thurston Moore Band at Saint Vitus in October (more by PSquared)

    The Thurston Moore Band -- aka Thurston, his former Sonic Youth bandmate Steve Shelley on drums, My Bloody Valentine's Deb Googe on bass, and guitarist James Sedwards -- put out their SY-esque The Best Day earlier this year and recently toured it, hitting NYC twice. They have more dates coming up, including a return to NYC on December 11 at the Marlin Room at Webster Hall. That's a free show presented by Norton Antivirus and Pandora, but you have to RSVP to get in. All Thurston dates are listed below.

    Read the complete article at www.brooklynvegan.com

’14 Nov 12 Wed

Wednesday 12th November

’14 Oct 30 Thu

Thursday 30th October

’14 Oct 29 Wed

Wednesday 29th October

  • One Chord to Another: A Retrospective on the Records of Sloan

    We look through the varied and vivacious 20-year discography of Sloan album by album, charting this underrated group's significant achievements.

    We look through the varied and vivacious 20-year discography of Sloan album by album, charting this underrated group's significant achievements.  Artist: Sloan Album: Smeared Label: DGC Release Date: 1992 Display as: List Image: http://images.popmatters.com/news_art/s/sloan_smeared_albumart200.jpg Smeared1992 Sloan's first album, Smeared, was released in 1992 on major label powerhouse DGC Records. Though it owes a lot to the music of My Bloody Valentine and Sonic Youth, it's overall sweeter, less serious, and more memorable than anything by…

    Read the complete article at www.popmatters.com

’14 Oct 27 Mon

Monday 27th October

older »