News featuring Usher

The following news stories mention Usher. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 8 hours ago.

’15 Jun 29 Mon

Monday 29th June

  • How R&B got its groove back

    In the late 00s, R&B had lost its edge. But in 2015 it reigns supreme again thanks to innovative, introspective artists such as Frank Ocean, Drake and Miguel, all of whom are due to release eagerly awaited albums soon. Just don’t mention the ‘hipster’ tag…

    Occasionally, a musical genre will be so sonically revolutionary that it will become untethered from the context of its creation. Styles such as hip-hop or country or house are so broad and mutable, it’s difficult to imagine that they will ever fall out of favour. But these are the exceptions. Most musical genres – UK garage or bluegrass or new rave – are forever linked with their origin story. They, of course, have a loyal hardcore fanbase and continue to produce some new artists, and they may even fall back into favour from time to time, but they remain a trend rather than a transformation.

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’15 Jun 26 Fri

Friday 26th June

’15 Jun 23 Tue

Tuesday 23rd June

’15 Jun 10 Wed

Wednesday 10th June

’15 Jun 8 Mon

Monday 8th June

’15 Jun 4 Thu

Thursday 4th June

’15 May 20 Wed

Wednesday 20th May

  • Sinkane: 'I was always the kid who mashed up the Play-Doh'

    Sinkane’s Ahmed Gallab explains how his musical projects are all about collaboration and how working with Usher brought him to tears

    It all started with two seemingly unrelated albums: Pharoah Sanders’s Karma, a 1969 avant-garde jazz sprawl, and Brian Eno’s minimalist 1975 offering Discreet Music. Without them, Ahmed Gallab would probably not have ended up fronting Sinkane, his eclectic, funk-infused and almost exhaustingly multi-genre band.

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

  • Triathalon – “Usher Surfing” Video (Stereogum Premiere)

    Last year, Savannah four-piece Triathalon put out their sunny, charming full-length debut Lo-Tide. Since then, they’ve been on tour, and are currently putting the finishing touches on their followup, but they’re looking back for now with a new video for Lo-Tide highlight “Usher Surfing.” The video is a fuzzy, shimmering mirage — pools of blue […]

    Read the complete article at stereogum.feedsportal.com

’15 May 15 Fri

Friday 15th May

  • Popcaan – “Unruly Prayer” Video (Feat. Drake)

    Bless Jamaican dancehall prodigy Popcaan for giving us this heartfelt prayer of thanksgiving in the midst of a particularly petty year. “Unruly Prayer” is a joyous, buoyant anthem of celebration and humility that rings out with particular grace, a dancehall hymn to usher in the summer. Mostly the video is clips of Popcaan and his […]

    Read the complete article at stereogum.feedsportal.com

older »