News featuring Metallica

The following news stories mention Metallica. Stories are compiled from a hand-picked selection of popular music news sites based in Great Britain, Europe and the United States. Updated less than 27899 hours ago.

’15 Jul 23 Thu

Thursday 23rd July

  • Strange Wilds: Subjective Concepts review – decent but typical grunge-punk

    (Sub Pop)

    A renamed version of Wet (the west-coast four piece, not the Brooklyn synth-pop trio), Strange Wilds are an Olympia band in both sound and spirit. Their debut album is firmly embedded in the Pacific north-west’s grunge tradition and the wider west coast’s hardcore roots. Tracks reference the scuzzy repetition of Nirvana and Mudhoney (Pronia, Autothysis, Oneirophobe), while others veer into the unapologetic hardcore of Sub Pop labelmates Metz and Sacramento malcontents Trash Talk (Egophillia, Pareidolia, Lost and Found). All of this is fun while it lasts, but anyone who is familiar with the back catalogues of labels such as Touch and Go or SST will feel like they’ve heard it all before – when it sounded fresher. It isn’t bad, but it rarely moves beyond pastiche – Don’t Have To sounds like a Metallica song (specifically Enter Sandman) spliced together with a plodding Nirvana effort. Imitation might be the most sincere form of flattery, but for…

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’15 Jul 14 Tue

Tuesday 14th July

  • Lars Ulrich Loves Streaming, Hates Modern Music

    Apparently the only thing anyone asks musicians about anymore is streaming. Thanks, Apple. Anyway, Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich has now been asked, and he’s dutifully given his opinion as well: He likes it! Because unlike the original Napster, which Ulrich notoriously campaigned against, Ulrich makes money off of streaming. In an interview with BBC World […]

    Read the complete article at stereogum.feedsportal.com

’15 Jul 12 Sun

Sunday 12th July

’15 Jul 10 Fri

Friday 10th July

  • Meat is murder? Rockers go head to head over animal rights

    Macca and Morrissey detest meat, yet Metallica and and Kid Rock shoot animals for sport. Who are the true rock’n’rollers?

    In the past 24 hours, Paul McCartney has condemned proposals to bring back fox hunting, and Dr (yes, Dr!) Brian May of Queen has been on Newsnight, delivering a passionate and sweary tirade against the bloodsport.

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’15 Jul 9 Thu

Thursday 9th July

’15 Jun 28 Sun

Sunday 28th June

  • Glastonbury round-up: Kanye West divides the field, and his set lacks the dazzle to reunite it

    Even the hip-hop star’s fans might have been disappointed by his performance. Meanwhile, Mary J Blige weeps and Mark Ronson brings all his funky friends

    A divisive headliner is rapidly becoming a Glastonbury tradition and Kanye West outdoes even Metallica last year when it comes to inspiring extreme reactions. During Welsh rock band Catfish and the Bottlemen’s Friday afternoon set, frontman Van McCann asks, sincerely, if people are looking forward to the rapper’s performance and the boos drown out the cheers. Before Kanye takes the stage there is a genuine crackle of jeopardy.

    Read the complete article at feeds.theguardian.com

’15 Jun 27 Sat

Saturday 27th June

’15 Jun 26 Fri

Friday 26th June

’15 Jun 15 Mon

Monday 15th June

’15 Jun 14 Sun

Sunday 14th June

older »